About Canons House & Grounds
Canons House was built in 1680 and was a family home until 1939 when it was purchased by the council. The house is Grade II* listed and was in urgent need the restoration work which began in 2020. The build work is now complete, and the house has been sympathetically renovated into a community and workspace.
The lower ground floor will soon be transformed into a flexible community space with exhibits that showcase the rich heritage of Canons and its surroundings.
The beautiful drawing room on the ground floor of the house, overlooking the pond, is also for community use.
Other rooms on the ground floor and the first floor of the house will be used as a workspace.
Major works to Canons Pond have been carried out which include dredging and installing a new liner.
There is a new pathway around the pond and a nature-friendly planting scheme.
The obelisk itself has been repaired and the area surrounding it transformed into a new entrance to Canons House & Grounds.
The existing wall has been replaced by a new beech hedge and there is new ornamental planting.
Historic Running Track
The 1920s running track, former home of the Mitcham Athletics Club, has been restored. There is a new surface and the track has be surrounded by wildflowers.
Click on the image to find out more about out landscape works.